Resister Virtual Exhibition 2022

WELCOME to this virtual exhibition of resister creativity! I was going to try to pull it all together with some clever theme or other but the truth is the links are resistance and creativity, so I will ‘resist’ the urge to launch into a verbose and quite unnecessary introduction. What I will say is that the talent on show is as wonderful as it is diverse.

They are not arranged in any specific order and I have also chosen to let the artists and creators speak for themselves. Sometimes they have a lot to say about themselves and their work, sometimes very little. Artists and creators are as layered and textured as the beauty they produce. Art and wonder are thankfully broad churches that have something for us all

In this exhibition you will find rug making, photography, paintings, jewellery and creative writing. Please take your time and relish each fabulous piece.

First up is LAURA MOUNTAINSPRING with a series of lovely paintings in varying media

Self portrait 24″ by 30″ acrylic   Eyes

“White Rabbit” acrylic geometric 36″ by 40″

“Go ask Alice” 30″ by 40″ acrylic sunflowers

Archie”  16″ by 20″ oil of my daughters cat

Next we have some beautiful rug making by PAMELA JOHNSON

“Sophie Girl “. I just lost her at 15 years old. This piece is hand hooked on linen with hand dyed wool cut into thin strips. Traditional Rughooking is my guilty pleasure. Hope you like it.

Here’s my rabbit. It’s ultra punch needle with 3 strands of embroidery threads on weavers cloth. 

REBEKAH DONOHUE shows us some stunning jewellery and bead work

The first up is a piece named “the Crone”. I did all the bead weaving around a natural turquoise carving I found.

The second piece is a free-form woven bag that is functional. I use it as a wall hanging.

The third piece is created with antique african trade beads and is a statement piece.

The final piece is a wall hanging made up of antique beads, most prominently the antique 5 layer Chevron beads which are very large and above average in size.

ANN MODRCIN presents two mixed media pieces

I am Ann, a newly retired physician. My new endeavours include Art, among other things. Our country needs a break from hatred and insanity. I feel that art in all forms can bring people together, provide hope, and even build bridges.

Mixed media (ink, charcoal, colored pencil, Keta Dye) on scrap wood. Most of my subjects are women, mostly Asian-ish or mixed, though my husband sees “Chinese Ann”, “Muslim Ann”, “Mixed Ann”, etc, rather than Scandi Ann… The women are all powerful, reflecting the need to raise our girls to be powerful, and unapologetically so, and keep our women strong and confident.

My last major project before I retired was to feature children with disabilities in a Photo Gallery Wall, being their usual wonderful selves, with the goal of promoting unity with all children. The Gallery publicly stressed inclusion and let visitors to the hospital truly SEE these kids. Not as kids with differences, but as kids that are, well, just kids.


Here we have some magnificent portraits by KATHY ZYDUCK

I’m an artist. I’m not good at talking about myself.  I do art nouveau/ rock and roll mashups and portraits.  

A POWERFUL Painting next by BARRY LEE

The Three Sisters, Corn, Beans, and Squash… the basic food mainstay in traditional Native American Culture. The teaching is Corn grows tall giving pole beans a place to climb and flourish while Squash with it’s broad leaves maintain soil integrity to keep the moisture close for its other two sisters. We are all related and The Three Sister’s teach us to care and depend on each other. In my painting (22×28 acrylic on canvas) Corn is dressed in Cherokee tear dress, Beans in Iroquois regalia, and Squash in Lenape regalia.

There are no faces, because of the traditional story of the faceless girl. It teaches humility

This highly festive and colourful piece by PAULINE SHENTON

Being an Easter Bunny is hard work. Then you often have leftover egg paints to deal with…falling into the bucket seems to have solved it this time! Plus I found a new friend

An entrancing poem by LEIGH CAMPBELL

INDIAN LOVE

The moon casts her blue eyes upon his body.. as the breeze of another cool night blows invisible. Tomorrow he will awake to the voice, and the feeling of knowing Indian love.

Tonight he is content with peaceful knowledge, his thoughts appearing so purposely real… The sun daylight streaks through, heat invisible rays of brilliance nudge his dreaming body.

Stirring he will stretch upward, waking his Indian love, that is swelling in his heart, pulsating with knowledge. Knowing that soon his life could be open to real expressions of its meaning, silently using his voice…

As winged creatures sing their songs, so does his voice beautifying all direction, surrounding with the Indian love. Brothers of man attend to him, they know he is real and that the magic he possesses, can become invisible.

He will wait for the beauty, the power of her body, now is the time…not to question, but accept true knowledge..

Eyes, cleared with innocence, seek higher knowledge, only to view and see through all that is real. Whispers on the wind, speak lightly of invisible emotions, he has a quietness in his voice. Embrace the world with a secure feeling of Indian love, just as he once circled her being, her body.

Spirits glide along the sun face, are they real? speechless as they pass, could he hear the voice? He is yearning deep inside, desiring her knowledge of life and the secrets she carries in her body.

Ways to turn, ways to learn, forever invisible Man can seek woman only to discover Indian love…. Indian love.

The meaning of Indian love prevails, a real acceptance of knowledge.. Invisible to blind eyes, a mystical body, a spiritual voice…

By: Leigh Campbell (R.M.C 1977)

A series of great realist oil paintings by OLIVER GIBSON

I am a self taught oil painter from Berlin, Germany. The only medium I ever use is linseed oil. Mostly covering realism. Ironically one of my strongest artistic influences is Salvador Dali.

  1. Enterprise in orbit (oil on canvas 40 x 30cm, linseed oil)
  2. Fisherman Study (oil on paper, A4, linseed oil)
  3. Phoenix the dog (oil on paper, 40 x 30cm, linseed oil)
  4. Sunset at lake (oil on canvas, 40 x 30cm, linseed oil)
  5. Fisher shack (oil on canvas, 40 x 30cm, linseed)

Soulful paintings now by CINDY FERRY

I am new at this, but very happy with how these turned out, so I am taking the leap!

DANIEL FREY raises the political pulse next with this amazing digital artwork

Title: Good Trouble

Medium: Digital

Daniel Frey, aka Toby is a writer-producer in Hollywood, California.

This photograph of New York by LESLIE BIALLER is just something else

“New York is thought of as a monochrome city, but you can make it glow if you want. This shot is looking west from near Third Avenue on E. 40th St. Sort of the border between the Midtown East and Murray Hill districts. I’ll let the realtors decide.”

From digital through photography to watercolour with this wonderful piece by DONNA ATWOOD

This was painted in watercolour for a client who sent me a photo. The owner trains guide dogs for Guiding Eyes for the Blind. I’ve been painting pets for 7 years.

From pets to the wild now with DEB DICKER

My name is Deb Dicker
I’m a Canadian artist working in mixed media.
I’m also a photographer.
A mom of 2 a gramma of 2.

My work is mainly shown at the Art Emporium in Port Stanley ON.
These pieces were inspired by Alaska

A very dramatic and deeply personal series next by ALY JONES

The attached images are a series that cover the stages in the recovery after rape/sexual assault.

The walls close in until you face it and allow yourself to feel the emotions.

A sweet artistic reminiscence next by CARLA SOTELO

These are oldies but goodies… from back in my college days.  I discarded most of my student work, but these were among the ones I kept.  I ended up doing my graduate work in ceramic tiles.  I have had 3 MG sports cars in my life.  They’re really fun to drive.  It feels  like you are driving a roller coaster, especially in the hills surrounding Los Angeles where I lived most of my life.  I recently moved to Florida because I bought a farm, so I sold my MG collection so they could stay in California.  They’re no use to me here… I need farm equipment!

The MG drawing is Marker Rendering on paper 20X30″

The skull drawing is pencil on paper probably also 20X30″

For lovers of Vincent van Gogh a masterful painting by LES SCHREIBER

This is a piece I did from a trip to Amsterdam in the summer of 2019. We were there during Gay Pride Week, and to say it was an experience, would be an understatement. I had just come out of an institution, on the Amstel River in Amsterdam: Mulligans Irish Music Bar. (You can see it behind one of the canal houseboats, recognizable by the Irish flag.) I decided I wanted to do it in an obvious “Van Gogh” style, since I was in Amsterdam. Being OCD, what was really bothering me, were the “crooked houses” that surrounded the bar. They are well known in area. I kept wanting to straighten them. Ha Ha, but I fought my impulses and finally put them down the way they appeared in the many photos I took of the area.

Finally, a few pieces by myself RADICAL RHYMES

I wasn’t going to exhibit my own work in this fabulous show, but I was persuaded by some very kind people that I should… You know my style, I’m a colour obsessed expressionist in love with the work of Vincent, Frida and Paul Cezanne. This first piece I’ve included because of the importance of Tupac’s words, especially now, that we readily ignore the poor while we propagate war. This portrait in blue is a message to all billionaires, oligarchs and tyrants. It’s you we need to bring into the light, we can’t ignore your exploitation and greed…

To finish on a lighter note… I have embarked on a series of fun expressionist paintings that I’m calling the Animal Farm series. I hope they raise a smile

WELL, here we are at the end… I hope you have enjoyed this exhibition, it has been my pleasure to present it to you.

A HUGE thank you to all the contributors, and thank YOU for taking the time to view and enjoy their marvellous work. Art always requires an audience!

RESIST!

CREATE!

One thought on “Resister Virtual Exhibition 2022

  1. ❤️🦅🖤🙏❤️My Brother, this exhibit is Fantastic!! So much talent, creativeness, beauty… Pinamiya for putting my poem in it, wonderful 🌻🌻🌻🌻🇺🇦✊❤️

    Like

Leave a comment